The Presidential Medal of Freedom II

Asa Philip Randolph seated with President Lyndon Johnson

September 14 - Washington, DC - President Johnson awarded The Medal to Leontyne Price, an international opera star, and A. Philip Randolph, founder of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters and the visionary behind the March on Washington.