Civil Rights Act of 1957 Signed

President Dwight Eisenhower with Civil Rights leaders (left to right) Channing Tobias, Arthur Spingarn, Clarence Mitchell, Walter White and Theodore Spaulding.

September 9 - Washington, DC - Signed by President Eisenhower, this Act was the first civil rights act to be signed since Reconstruction.   It declared that the disenfranchisement of Black people was illegal; it authorized the Justice Department to seek injunctions against interference with the right to vote; and, it established the Commission on Civil Rights to investigate any interferences with the law.